Make ‘em to break ‘em? On New Year’s Resolutions for you and your business…


As a trainer, I am accustomed to hearing my students cry: “I never make New Year’s resolutions. Ask me another question, instead!” When I ask them “Why not?”, they usually say “Well, I can change any time I want. If I want to change then I will.”

O.K. It’s a free country (so far).  If, however, like me you’re one of those people who likes to use milestones and measuring sticks then you probably feel that urge to write down a few goals every time Big Ben strikes 12 and the champagne corks start popping.

 If you run your own business you will be used to thinking in terms of short-term, mid-term and long-term goals. Why not use New Year as a time to focus on how you, the entrepreneur, can further your own growth this year? What new stuff can you learn? What needs to be changed, to make you a happier and more positive person (thus attracting a happier and more positive working environment, of course)?

 In the past 10 days I have been reading a lot of different people’s lists of goals and resolutions for 2013 and I would like to share with you my favourite five here. Hope you find one or two that appeal to you.

1) To be grateful for one thing every day

2) To celebrate small wins when they occur, alone or with my team.

3) To inspire 1 person a day.

4) To learn something new for an hour a day, no matter what it is.

5) Spend the first 90 minutes of each working day on real work (the stuff I like to avoid) rather than fake work and displacement activities

Good luck!

P.S. Going to be giving my blog a face-lift soon, plus adding details of some awards I am excited to have received…

So Watch This Space…

 Take care, Louise

Leave a Reply

